Codes for Reviews

First Initial (Overall Rating):
E = Exceptional
VG = Very Good
G = Good
F = Fair
NR = Not Recommended

Second Initital (Reading Level):
A = Average Reading Level
E = Easy
M = Mature

“The views expressed are of individuals and do not necessarily reflect the views of their respective institutions.”

For more information about YAR, please email Dora Ho at

Monday, October 31, 2011

Wolf Mark

General YA Fiction

G/A Bruchac, Joseph. Wolf Mark. Lee & Low Books, 2011. 392 p. 9781600606618. $17.95

Luke King is special but all he wants to do is blend in, be invisible. Ever since his mom died, he and his dad haven't been quite the same. His dad used to teach him all the tricks he learned in his secret special-ops jobs but now all he does is get drunk, or at least that is how it seems.

When Luke's dad calls him at school with a cryptic message, he realizes it was all for show. Luke's dad has been kidnapped and now Luke must embrace his destiny to save him.

A new take on werewolves, vampires and genetically engineered creatures.

Sarah Mae Harper, CoLAPL- AC Bilbrew Library

Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Blood Red Road

Young Adult Fiction

VG/A Young, Moira. Blood Red Road. McElderry Books, 2011. 512p. 9781442429987. 17.99.

Saba, her twin brother Lugh and little sister Emmi have lived a secluded life with their father in the desert. Until one day when a group of men arrive, kill her father and kidnap Lugh. With nothing else to loose, Saba and Emmi set off on an epic quest to find and rescue their brother. Along the way Saba is forced to cage fight, meets the handsome Jack and joins forces with a group of women who call themselves the Free Hawks. This fast paced, action packed novel could stand on it’s own, but it is the first of a trilogy (and already optioned for a movie). Fans of Hunger Games, Graceling and Divergent will likely devour and love this series too. Loren Spector, LAPL, Felipe de Neve

Thursday, October 13, 2011

Don't Stop Now

High School Fiction

G/A Halpern, Julie. Don’t Stop Now: Friend or Boyfriend? Feiwel and Friends, 2011. 232p. 978-0-312-64346-1. 16.99.

When Lillian’s friend Penny disappears, Lillian knows that she has faked her own kidnapping in order to escape her unhappy life and abusive boyfriend. Since Lillian can’t tell anyone where Penny is, she takes off on a road trip with her best friend (and crush), Josh to Portland, Oregon to find Penny herself. Along the way they stop at many real roadside attractions. By the time they make it to Portland, the trip has turned into a real learning experience for both of them. The road trip itself was fun to read about, but what really stood out was how Halpern managed to realistically portray the emotions of teenage girls on the brink of adulthood. Loren Spector, LAPL, Felipe de Neve


High School Fiction

G/A Coben, Harlan. Shelter. Putnam, 2011. 320p. 978-0-399-25650-9. 18.99.

Harlan Coben’s first book for young adults is not so different from his adult books; as usual there are lots of twists and turns and interesting characters. High school sophomore, Mickey Bolitar, is finally settling down in his Uncle’s house, after years of traveling with his parents. Unfortunately though it’s not on good terms, his father recently died in a car accident and his mother is in drug rehab. To make matters worse Ashley, his new girlfriend of 3 weeks has mysteriously disappeared. Along with his two new outcast friends, Mickey tries to find out what happened to Ashley and how his family is connected to the disappearance. Although some of the plot is unbelievable, it’s a quick, fun adventure/mystery read for teens and adults alike. Loren Spector, LAPL, Felipe de Neve.